Posted by: cokenias | May 7, 2011

Sandy

Mussel Rock, Pacifica, 10:55am. W @ 10-15mph. Low tide.

Launched from Lemmings and headed N to cliffs. Too low, so I looped back intending to slope land facing S on the Steps. A small amount of lift as I returned gave me hope and I turned N again. This was foolish. There was not enough lift to get me up and I had to land on the beach. I landed as close to the cliff as I could without touching it. Immediately hauled wing to highest point possible on beach and got out of my harness. Packed into stuff sack and climbed back up. Called it a day.

Errors:

  • Should have bailed out before only landing option was beach. Getting up is not worth the risk of water.
  • Should have escaped harness first, then moved wing up beach.

0:02 Mussel Rock (Lemmings), reverse launch.

Leave a Reply

Categories

