Posted by: cokenias | May 24, 2011

Eager Beaver

Mussel Rock, Pacifica, 4:30pm. NW @ 12mph

Good ground handling, some brief kiting to check the wing and I launched unaware of full twists of both risers. It’s clear on the video that I check the wing several times but fail to notice twisted lines/risers. The harness had flipped through the risers when packing in/out of the stuff sack, I would need to do a somersault to fix the twist. The wing flew fine and it’s interesting to see the twist is initially in the lines but once flying, the lines are pulled apart and the twist moves down to the risers. Only then was it obvious that my brake line was wrapped. Before lifting the wing I remember some criss-crossed lines, I assumed they would clean up when I lifted. I saw the happy wing shape and the harness felt good, but I neglected to check lines. Simply shaking free the As would have identified this problem. As would have building a wall and taking a few moments to look how pretty my wing is. Did a few passes in front of the steps, didn’t get up, landed gently and transitioned to kiting in the saddle. Didn’t notice the twist until preflight of next launch.

Errors:

  • Too eager to fly, rushed the preflight.
  • Didn’t announce launch.

0:03 Mussel Rock (Walker), reverse launch.

Leave a Reply

Categories

