Posted by: cokenias | May 26, 2011

Up Late

Mussel Rock, Pacifica, 4:30pm. W @ 12mph

3 minutes
12 mph W, 4:30pm

Launched from Lemmings. I set up with one foot down the hill and my wing center launch. Ground handling was difficult and I dropped it in rotor, compounded my frustration by continuing from the dropped location even deeper in the rotor area. Tiptoed my way forward to the edge and torpedoed off, angled in the direction I wanted to fly, which was north of the wind direction. I took off with low airspeed which resulted in a flower kicking swoop. I headed north, worked the Steps a bit, didn’t get up, turned S and landed cross on the road by Lemmings, more downwind than not. Ungraceful landing. Ran a few steps, and slid on knees a bit, no damage to self or gear. I made several incomprehensible errors this flight. I think I was tired from not enough sleep the night before but excited to be out flying, so I didn’t notice the fatigue.

Errors:

  • Launched in rotor area.
  • Did not completely reset from failed launch.
  • Did not launch directly into wind.
  • Downwind landing due to lack plan.
  • Flew fatigued.

0:03 Mussel Rock (Lemmings), reverse launch.

Leave a Reply

Categories

