Posted by: cokenias | June 16, 2011

Two Biffed Launches

Mussel Rock, Pacifica, SW @ 13mph

Two failed launches from Walker. I set up on the north side of Walker ramp and started a decent reverse launch. As I turned around to my left, the wing lifted me 2 feet while still reversed. The glider quickly turned left into the wind, twisting the crossed risers. My body rotated to follow the twist, unwinding it with enough momentum that I was facing backwards again. The glider continued its leftward turn and nosed into the hill. I impacted facing the hill, feet first, and rolled. No damage.

I quickly set up a second launch from the same spot. I did a too-brief preflight and missed the fact that my somersault had put a 360° twist into my left riser. Immediately after bringing the wing up I realized my error and aborted the launch.

After two embarrassing attempts, I went down to Lemmings for an easier setup and more relaxing launch.

Errors:

  • Popped up using brakes in strong wind.
  • Did not reset preflight after failed launch.

0:01 Mussel Rock (Walker), reverse launch.

Leave a Reply

Categories

