Posted by: cokenias | July 14, 2011

Anything to Avoid Star Thistle

Mussel Rock, Pacifica, 13mph W, 2:45pm

Launched from Lemmings. Laid wing out on edge of launch, me half way down the hill. Kited to top of launch, turned and launched with one step into the wind. Flew along the cliffs, tucked in much closer than usual. It was moderately stressful, gusts (rotor from vertical edges?) were bumping me around a bit. But I got a lot of lift. Once near the cliff tops, I pushed out to sea on bar. Used Cs and weight shift to steer while on bar. Once, I started a turn with brake while on bar and immediately realized my error (no bad consequences that I could see).

Set up a landing for the top road X, touched down about 40 feet short and a little downwind, my toes in a star thistle bush. The wing, still overhead, was pulling me deeper into the bush, and I very much did not want to drop it there. With a firm pull on the brakes and a bit of push with my legs, I used the glider to hop over the bush entirely. The wing came down in a tidy pile in a nice clearing.

Errors:

  • Used brake to turn while on bar.

0:18 Mussel Rock (Lemmings), reverse launch.

Leave a Reply

Categories

