Posted by: cokenias | July 17, 2011

Photo Op 2

Mussel Rock, Pacifica, 11 mph WNW 5:00pm

Set up on Lemmings, with friends watching and snapping pics. I was much calmer this time, but still launched without quite enough speed and kicked a few bushes before getting truly airborne. Like my previous flight, I headed directly north, low at the slide and turned back for a landing. I intended to land as before, on the not-quite-lowest road. Wanting the wind in my face, I decided at the last minute to loop back and land on the lowest. My 180° turn had me swinging wide and low over the nasty beach rocks. I landed gently on the bottom road, realizing I had gotten away with a scary mistake. Much better to run out a downwind landing on high ground than scratch over rocks and surf. I called it quits for the day.

Errors:

  • Poor torpedo touch-and-go launch, slightly cross wind and off-speed.
  • Changed landing plan at last minute for trivial reason, putting me low over hostile terrain.

0:02 Mussel Rock (Lemmings), reverse launch.

Leave a Reply

Categories

