Posted by: cokenias | July 25, 2011

Baby Spiral

Mussel Rock, Pacifica, 14 mph WSW 12:30pm

93 minutes
14 mph WSW, 12:30pm

Smooth launch from Lemmings and an easy climb as I headed north along the cliffs. I tried a small spiral about 23 minutes into the flight. From about 515 feet I leaned hard left and progressively added left brake until the wing tip was on the horizon. I kept a little pressure on the outside brake. After about 180 degrees the G forces started to build noticeably and I sped up. I rode it for a full revolution and recentered my weight and hands. There was a significant swoop as I straightened out but I was able to level it out by symmetrically relaxing then tightening the brakes.

I exited pointing a safe direction and with plenty of altitude, but next time I will do it higher up and with more empty space down wind of me. Everything really speeds once the glider agrees to spiral.

Back and forth, back and forth, a tight (not spiraling) 720 in front of the steps to get down, a few figure 8s and then I landed on the high road, a bit south of Tomcat. I didn’t kill the wing properly after touching down, so I drifted back a few feet and landed again.

Errors:

  • Did not kill wing immediately on windy landing.

1:33 Mussel Rock (Lemmings), reverse launch.

Leave a Reply

Categories

