Posted by: cokenias | January 5, 2012

2012 Doesn’t Totally Suck So Far

Mussel Rock, Pacifica, 9-11 mph SW-W 50 degrees F

Not much wind today, but I thought I’d give it a try. I had left my gloves at home, but decided to fly anyway. At least I *noticed* they were missing this time. I shouldn’t fly without gloves because the lines can cut me, and the ground and local plants can hurt.

Easily brought up the wing midway up Walkers and kited to the top. Lost my footing a bit on the slick grass but recovered. From the top of Walkers, headed south along the cliff, losing height. With the ground approaching faster than I liked, turned back and found lift a bit in front of the ridge. Continued north, found a bit of lift over the bowl but gave up and turned home for a landing. I intended to land on the middle road but changed my mind after exciting an off leash dog. I could hear him chasing me along the runway so I peeled away from the dog and landed crosswind with a few running steps just above the lowest road. I hate dropping the wing there because the fencing that keeps the rocks in place is very glider-hostile.

Dew started to form as the sun went down. Salty, Pacifica dew.

Took the wing home damp, fluffed it out indoors and packed away dry.

  • No gloves!

3 minutes
Mussel Rock (Walkers), reverse launch.

Leave a Reply

Categories

